Arc Review : In Five Years by Rebecca Serle 💫

Book : In Five Years

Author : Rebecca Serle

Genre : Contemporary

Publisher : Atria Books

Publication Date : March 10th, 2020

Personal Rating : 4.5/5 stars

“You mistake love. You think it has to have a future in order to matter, but it doesn’t. It’s the only thing that does not need to become at all. It matters only in so far as it exists. Here. Now. Love doesn’t require a future.”
– Rebecca Serle, In Five Years

When I discovered In Five Years on my bookstagram feed, I instantly fell in love with the cover. The book hasn’t even been published yet, but a LOT OF PEOPLE were already talking about it, so I had to know what the hype was about! Thanks to the publisher for sending me an e-arc in exchange of an honest review. I finished reading the book in one sitting ~ it was THAT good. 4.5/5🌟 from me! I was kinda disappointed with how the book ended, so it missed my 5 star rating.

Here’s the synopsis of the book from Goodreads ~

Perfect for fans of Me Before You and One Day—a striking, powerful, and moving love story following an ambitious lawyer who experiences an astonishing vision that could change her life forever. 

Where do you see yourself in five years?

When Type-A Manhattan lawyer Dannie Cohan is asked this question at the most important interview of her career, she has a meticulously crafted answer at the ready. Later, after nailing her interview and accepting her boyfriend’s marriage proposal, Dannie goes to sleep knowing she is right on track to achieve her five-year plan.

But when she wakes up, she’s suddenly in a different apartment, with a different ring on her finger, and beside a very different man. The television news is on in the background, and she can just make out the scrolling date. It’s the same night—December 15—but 2025, five years in the future.

After a very intense, shocking hour, Dannie wakes again, at the brink of midnight, back in 2020. She can’t shake what has happened. It certainly felt much more than merely a dream, but she isn’t the kind of person who believes in visions. That nonsense is only charming coming from free-spirited types, like her lifelong best friend, Bella. Determined to ignore the odd experience, she files it away in the back of her mind.That is, until four-and-a-half years later, when by chance Dannie meets the very same man from her long-ago vision.

Brimming with joy and heartbreak, In Five Years is an unforgettable love story that reminds us of the power of loyalty, friendship, and the unpredictable nature of destiny. “

Photo source : My bookstagram @whatirinreads


My thoughts on In Five Years :

I thought this book would be a sweet love story, but it turned out to be so, so much more. Instead of just being a book about the romantic side of love, In Five Years focuses on the beauty of love that can be bought into our lives through friendship. This is the first book that I’ve read by Rebecca Serle and I’m so impressed. Her powerful words and thoughts which got expressed through In Five Years will definitely leave a long-lasting impact in readers’ minds, including mine.

The main character, Dannie’s life was so intricately crafted! I felt like I was looking at her soul through a window hidden among the pages of the book. Her relationship with her best friend, Bella was so heart-warming and beautiful. The conversations that they had with each other made me feel all kinds of emotions. I was a sobbing mess by the end of the book, and I’ve to blame their friendship for that. 😭 Bella and Dannie’s story made me realize that if you have a real friend by your side, they’ll truly bring out the best version of yourself.

I really admired how the author didn’t sugar-coat the situations that Dannie faced and kept everything so realistic, even though she (magically?) got to see a day from her future in a dream. There was a touch of mystery in the book too and I was dying to know how the story unfolded.

New York is my dream destination. I have wanted to visit that city from a really young age, so the glimpses of New York that the author included in the book really fascinated me too! WANNA GO THERE ASAP.

The only thing I didn’t like about the book was the ending, you’ll know why when you read the book.. 😅

I have been obsessed with adult novels lately, instead of reading YA. In Five Years made me fall in love with the genre even more. This book is honestly a gift in my life. I’m so glad I got the chance to read it!