Publication Day Review: Playing The Witch Card by KJ Dell’Antonia

Happy Publication Day to Playing The Witch Card! Many thanks to Putnam Books for the opportunity to review. ❤

Many thanks to the publisher for the e-ARC!

This was a whimsical book filled with delicious baked goods, unexpected magic, and complex family relationships! I must admit, the writing style threw me off initially, as the description of the magic system was complicated. After the first 40 percent mark, things started to get really INTERESTING.

I liked how layered Flair’s character was. Seeing her grow and accept her magical abilities (all over again), as well as the town of Rattleboro was really uplifting! The mother-daughter relationship between Flair and Lucie stood out to me too. Small-town vibes never fail to amaze me, and Playing The Witch Card was full of that! The unexpected twists and turns added a fun outline to the story.

I’d recommend the story if you’re a Gilmore Girls and Practical Magic fan! ❤

Leave a comment